BL!NDMAN Akenkaai 2, B-1000 Brussels +32 (0)2 201 59 47
 
 

line-up

eric sleichim > artistic direction, concept and composition

BL!NDMAN [DRUMS]
tom de cock > percussion
yves goemaere > percussion
hannes nieuwlaet > percussion
ruben cooman > percussion

david helbich, mike schmidt > voices (German)

SECRETS OF A SOUL is a BL!NDMAN production, coproduced by deSIngel

With thanks to the Grame/Lyon (centre national de création musicale) for the development of the electronics for soundmanipulation and to the royal belgian film archive.

BL!NDMAN is supported by the Arts Administration of the Ministry of the Flemish Community and the Flemish Community Commission of the Brussels-Capital Region. BL!NDMAN [sax] play Selmer Paris Saxophones. BL!NDMAN [drums] is supported by Muremo, distributor of Bergerault Percusssion Instruments.

SECRETS OF A SOUL

Silent movie, with live score performed by BL!NDMAN [drums] and live-electronics

Georg W. Pabst made the movie ¬‘Secrets of a Soul¬’ in 1926, three years before his major success ¬‘Pandora¬’s Box¬’. Eric Sleichim is the first composer to create a contemporary soundtrack to this film.

When Martin Fellman suddenly feels the inexplicable urge to kill his beloved wife, he seeks an answer to his problem by visiting a psychiatrist. While on the couch, different memories and a long dream from the first part of the movie pass by again. Through the analysis of the dream, the psychiatrist is able to explain facts from Fellman¬’s past and concludes that the urge to kill is to be seen as a result of an underlying jealousy of a friend from his youth and an inferiority complex because he is childless. As soon as Fellman realises which problems are causing his sudden urge, he is cured instantly.

In order to develop the elaborated dream sequence, Pabst consulted two assistants of Freud, who himself was rather averse of the cinematographic medium and had refused all collaboration. The didactical structure of the film, which can be considered as characteristic for the New Objectivity, and the almost stereotypical presentation of the psychoanalysis may seem remarkable to a 21st century audience. For the composer Eric Sleichim, it lays down a specific challenge, trying to give a contemporary musical answer to the question of how the brain is working.

After previous successful silent movie-projects, Eric Sleichim returns to this medium once again. His new composition is scored for the four percussionists of BL!NDMAN [drums] and live-electronics. The Lyric Suite of Alban Berg, also dating back to 1926, inspired Sleichim¬’s use of musical material. BL!NDMAN [drums] adds to the striking visual impact of the performance, using infrared signals to manipulate electronically modified sounds.

audio

programme

director > georg w. pabst (1926, berlin)
script > colin ross, hans neumann
professional advise > dr. karl abraham, dr. hans sachs

actors
the man > werner krauss
the woman > ruth weyer
the mother > ilka gr√ľning
the cousin > jack trevor
the doctor > pawel pawlow

production of the movie
neumann-film of the ufa-kulturabteilung
duration > 75’
archive > transit-film

première > 5 February 2009, deSingel РAntwerp


SECRETS OF A SOUL played among others on the following locations:

2011
LUXEMBURG - Philharmonie Luxembourg
2010
GRONINGEN- Grand Théâtre
FRANKFURT (D) - Mousonturm
2009
ANTWERPEN / ANVERS - deSingel
BRUSSEL / BRUXELLES - flagey
WIEN (A) / WENEN / VIENNE - Konzerthaus (Grosse Saal)
Bookmark and Share

BL!NDMAN       contact info

Sainctelettesquare 18-19
B-1000 Brussels, Belgium
+32 2 201 59 47

contact:

general and artistic direction:
management:   M +32 485 30 98 01
technical coordination & sound engineer:   M +32 485 53 68 16
production manager:   M +32 498 54 96 81

BL!NDMAN is supported by the Arts Administration of the Ministry of the Flemish Community and the Flemish Community Commission of the Brussels-Capital Region. BL!NDMAN [sax] play Selmer Paris Saxophones. BL!NDMAN [drums] is supported by Muremo, distributor of Bergerault Percusssion Instruments.

BL!NDMAN Akenkaai 2, B-1000 Brussels +32 (0)2 201 59 47
 
 

line-up

eric sleichim > direction artistique, concept et composition

BL!NDMAN [DRUMS]
tom de cock > percussion
yves goemaere > percussion
hannes nieuwlaet > percussion
ruben cooman > percussion

david helbich, mike schmidt > voix (allemand)

SECRETS OF A SOUL est une production de BL!NDMAN en coproduction avec deSIngel

Avec remerciements à Grame/Lyon (centre national de création musicale) pour le développement de l’électronique pour la manipulation de son et à la cinematheque royale de belgique.

BL!NDMAN bénéficie du soutien de l’Administration pour les Arts du Ministère de la Communauté flamande, ainsi que de la Commission flamande de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. BL!NDMAN [sax] joue instruments de Selmer Paris. Muremo, distributeur de Bergerault, soutient BL!NDMAN [drums].

SECRETS OF A SOUL

Film muet, accompagné de musique interprétée par BL!NDMAN [drums] et live-electronics

Georg W.Pabst a tourné le film “Geheimnisse einer Seele” (Les Mystères d’une âme) en 1926, trois ans avant son grand succès “Die Büchse der Pandora” (Loulou). Eric Sleichim est le premier compositeur qui pourvoit le film d’une musique contemporaine.

Lorsque, après une série d’événements apparemment indépendants les uns des autres, Martin Fellman ressent tout à coup l’impulsion irrésistible et pour lui-même totalement inexplicable de tuer sa femme bien-aimée, il s’adresse en désespoir de cause à un psychiatre. Là, sur le canapé, plusieurs événements ainsi que la longue séquence de rêve de la première partie du film sont de nouveau passés en revue. A travers l’analyse du rêve, le psychiatre explique des faits du passé de Fellman et conclut que l’impulsion de tuer sa femme trouve ses racines dans une jalousie sous-jacente envers son ami de jeunesse et un complexe d’infériorité dû au fait qu’il est resté sans enfants. Aussitôt que Fellman comprend quels problèmes sous-jacents sont à la base de son impulsion irrésistible, il en est immédiatement guéri.

Pour le développement des scènes de rêve, Pabst a été aidé par deux assistants de Sigmund Freud qui, lui-même, avait plutôt une attitude négative à l’égard du film en général et qui avait refusé sa collaboration. La construction didactique du film, conforme aux règles de la nouvelle objectivité, et la présentation quasi stéréotypée de la psychanalyse peuvent sembler périmées aux yeux d’un public du 21ième siècle. Pour le compositeur Eric Sleichim, qui veut offrir une réponse musicale contemporaine aux questions du fonctionnement de notre cerveau, cela constitue un véritable défi.

Après des projets antérieurs avec des films muets qui ont été couronnés de succès, Eric Sleichim s’y hasarde de nouveau et compose de la musique pour les quatre percussionnistes de BL!NDMAN [drums] et live-electronics. Pour son matériel musical, Sleichim s’inspire de de la Suite Lyrique d’Alban Berg, une composition qui, tout comme le film, date de 1926. Le spectacle musical est assuré quand les percussionnistes emploient des signaux infra-rouges pour manipuler des sons modifiés de façon électronique.

audio

programme

régie > georg w. pabst (1926, berlin)
scénario > colin ross, hans neumann
conseil professionnel > dr. karl abraham, dr. hans sachs

acteurs
l’homme > werner krauss
la femme > ruth weyer
la mère > ilka grüning
le cousin > jack trevor
le docteur > pawel pawlow

production du film
neumann-film de l’ ufa-kulturabteilung
durée > 75’
archive > transit-film

première > 5 février 2009, deSingel – Anvers


SECRETS OF A SOUL a été joué entre autres à :

2011
LUXEMBURG - Philharmonie Luxembourg
2010
GRONINGEN- Grand Théâtre
FRANKFURT (D) - Mousonturm
2009
ANTWERPEN / ANVERS - deSingel
BRUSSEL / BRUXELLES - flagey
WIEN (A) / WENEN / VIENNE - Konzerthaus (Grosse Saal)
Bookmark and Share

BL!NDMAN       contact

18-19 Sainctelettesquare
B-1000 Bruxelles, Belgique
+32 2 201 59 47

contact:

direction générale et artistique:
management:   M +32 485 30 98 01
coordination technique et régie de son:   M +32 485 53 68 16
chargée de production:   M +32 498 54 96 81

BL!NDMAN bénéficie du soutien de l’Administration pour les Arts du Ministère de la Communauté flamande, ainsi que de la Commission flamande de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. BL!NDMAN [sax] joue instruments de Selmer Paris. Muremo, distributeur de Bergerault, soutient BL!NDMAN [drums].