Sorry, your browser is not supported. Please use a modern browser like Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge.

Requiem for Adam


When the son of David Harrington, the Kronos Quartet violinist, died unexpectedly during a hike on Mount Diablo in California, Terry Riley composed a remarkable musical in his memory. In it a New Orleans Dixieland band (on tape) joins in with the string quartet at the climax of the work. It is a requiem that sets a funeral march off against a background of exuberance and merrily mixes together a wealth of elements.

In this evening’s concert, Riley’s eclectic approach is flanked by the serenity of John Cage and the bizarre, unbridled fantasy of that king of New York’s alternative impro scene: John Zorn. In short, some of America’s most idiosyncratic composers, who all do their own unconventional thing, are being brought together in a single concert with that most classic of all line-ups: the string quartet.

Terry Riley (1935) is one of the founding fathers of minimal music. Originally influenced by Stockhausen, he became increasingly fascinated by Cage. Requiem for Adam has been premiered in 1999. Riley wrote the piece in commemoration of the 16 year old Adam Harrington, the son of David Sarrington, violinist of the Kronos Quartet. This way, Riley tried to cope with the loss of a loved one.

John Cage (1912-1992) composed his String Quartet In Four Parts in 1950. The piece is divided in 4 movements who refer to the four seasons: Quietly flowing alongSlowly rockingNearly stationaryQuodlibet.

Cat O’Nine Tails (1988) is the first of John Zorn’s string quartets (1950). It contains a spectacular kaleidoscope of well-known to never heard sounds for string quartet, often based on simple motives but often with a surprising ending. The music varies from a sentimental waltz, over creaking scratching to a persiflage on Paganini’s most famous caprices

Eric Sleichim: artistic direction

BL!NDMAN [strings]
Floris Uytterhoeven: violin
Femke Verstappen: violin
Ine Kuypers: viola
Joyce kuipers: cello

REQUIEM FOR ADAM is a BL!NDMAN production, commissioned by Concertgebouw Brugge as part of the SCOOP concerts


Terry Riley: Requiem for Adam
1. Ascending the heaven ladder
2. Cortejo fúnebre en el monte diablo
3. Requiem for Adam

John Zorn: Cat o’ nine tails

John Cage: String quartet in 4 parts
1. Quietly flowing along
2. Slowly rocking
3. Nearly stationary
4. Quodlibet


29 Oct
Cc Ysara
Nieuwpoort (BE)
16 Oct
Concertgebouw (kamermuziekzaal) (première)
Brugge (BE)