Sorry, your browser is not supported. Please use a modern browser like Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge.


Händel revisited

Eric Sleichim and organist Reitze Smits arranged 2 iconic works by Handel, the Water Music suite and Music for the Royal Fireworks, for saxophone quintet and large organ. After the first premiere with this programme in August 2016 at the MA Festival Bruges, a new premiere actually awaits: in WATER & FIRE Decap / Handel revisited BL!NDMAN [sax] will in fact perform this programme together with a decap organ. The combination of saxophone and organ has already been widely used in new music. The sounds of these instruments blend brilliantly and dynamically the organ and saxophone quintet are well matched, both in the loudest and softest passages. The monumentality of Handel’s orchestral music comes fully into its own in this unique scoring. Rich acoustics and the possibility of setting up the instruments scattered throughout the room lead to a multidimensional perception of this beautiful music. As an organ point between these two Baroque icons stands the opening movement of Jean-Féry Rebel’s lesser-known suite Les Elémens, a musical sledgehammer blow that was way ahead of its time.

Eric Sleichim: artistic direction
Eric Sleichim & Reitze Smits: arrangements

BL!NDMAN [sax]
Koen Maas: soprano saxophone
Pieter Pellens: soprano saxophone
Eric Sleichim: alto saxophone
Piet Rebel: tenor saxophone
Raf Minten: baritone saxophone

WATER & FIRE / Handel revisited is a production of BL!NDMAN and Stichting Voor de Wind


G.F. Handel / arr. Smits & Sleichim : Water music Suite (selection)
J.F. Rebel / arr. Sleichim : Le Cahos (from Les Elemens)
O. Messiaen / arr. Sleichim: Le Verbe (from La Nativité du Seigneur)
G.F. Handel / arr. Smits & Sleichim: Music for the Royal Fireworks