Sorry, your browser is not supported. Please use a modern browser like Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge.


Sub Rosa, 1993

1 CD 17 €
2 CDs 32 €

+ shipment
Belgium: 4 €
European Community: 8 €
Rest of the world: 15 €

  1. send us an e-mail at with the details of your order, your name and adress.
  2. deposit the exact amount into account IBAN BE71-7340-3344-1969 (BIC: KREDBEBB)
  3. as soon as we receive the payment, the cds will be sent to you

The music of BL!NDMAN seeks to extract more from the saxophone than the sounds for which the instrument was designed. Reed, brass, leather, and breath: the amalgam emanates something from every pore and curve. The conical body vibrates with intrinsic tension and liberates the sounds from an internal world. I work with raw materials, I forge, knead, shape, and deform.

Three men and a woman – four movements, four voices, four pairs of hands. The quartet breathes its own life into each instrument: using different techniques, utilizing the entire surface of the saxophone, rhythmic and thematic structures are developed into a unique sonorous world. For this, BL!NDMAN is the ultimate instrument for music created for the saxophone.
Eric Sleichim


Martin Fredebeul: soprano saxophone
Eric Sleichim: alto saxophone
Luc Mishalle: tenor saxophone
Véronique Delmelle: bartitone saxophone

Lié/Délie by Fabio Lani, stereo-recording in the Notre-Dame-Chappel, Boom
Plateaux by Lagon Van de Lagermaat Mixing: Alan Ward, multi-recording at Toneelschuur, Haarlem
Poortenbos by Jos & Joris De Backer

Sonare & Anne Fontigny: editing
Daniel Leon: mastering

original front cover painting: ‘Siegfried Vergisst Brünhilde’ by Anselm Kiefer

Gestetner/Nashua provided the Blindman Kwartet with four multi-cellular microphones specially designed by sound engineer Michel Dickenscheidt.

original art direction & design: Inspiral
originally an Addison De Wit – Sub Rosa coproduction


I Lié / Delié
1. Mvt. I : Tied
2. Mvt II : Untied
3. Mvt III : Pieces

II Plateaux
4. 3th Movement for Beuys

III Poortenbos
5. Poort 1: Circular Chants
6. Poort 2: Tongues
7. Poort 3: Slender
8. Mvt.I: Awakening
9. Poort 4: Muted Chants
10. Poort 5: Canon
11. Poort 6: Rondo
12. Mvt.II: Precipitate
13. Poort 7: Hymn
14. Poort 8: Vista
15. Poort 9: Chorus
16. Mvt.III: Fanfare