Sorry, your browser is not supported. Please use a modern browser like Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge.


Omroep MAX / Folies Amsterdam, 2016

The illuminated manuscripts of Peter Alamire (c.1470-1536) are without doubt one of the richest treasuries of polyphonic music. Not only do they contain works of the most prominent composers of the Renaissance, visually these choir books are absolute masterpieces.

On the basis of this musical heritage Eric Sleichim, along with the saxophones of the BL!NDMAN collective and 12 singers of Collegium Vocale Ghent, conducted by James Wood, explores in MORGEN! the intriguing tension between seemingly disparate musical worlds: original scores go into dialogue with contemporary arrangements.

Eric Sleichim: concept, arrangements and tubax
James Wood: conductor

Collegium Vocale Gent
Joowon Chung, Chiyuki Okamura, Magdalena Podkoscielna: soprano
Sofia Gvirts, Alexander Schneider, Bart Uvyn: alto
Stephan Gähler, Benedict Hymas, William Knight: tenor
Stefan Orexlmeier, Philipp Kaven, Matthias Lutze: bass

BL!NDMAN [sax]
Koen Maas: soprano saxophone
Roeland Vanhoorne: alto and tenor saxophone
Piet Rebel: tenor and baritone saxophone
Raf Minten: baritone saxophone
Eric Sleichim: saxophones


01:00 Johannes Ockeghem (ca. 1410-1497): Intemerata Dei Mater
08:00 Pierre de la Rue (1452-1518): Il viendra Ie jour désiré
13:20 Josquin des Prez (ca. 1450-1521): Salve Regina a 5
20:37 Alexander Agricola (1456-1506): De tous bien pleine
26:05 Jacob Obrecht (1457/58-1505): Salve Regina a 6
38:54 Josquin des Prez (ca.1450-1521): Malheur me bat (instrumental)
41:19 Josquin des Prez (ca.1450-1521): Missa Malheur me bat Agnus Dei