Sorry, your browser is not supported. Please use a modern browser like Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge.

Kwadratur #3

deSingel, 2012

In Cube the final part of the triptych Kwadratur, sound, light and architecture become interwoven. Music deliberately plays on the perception of time and space as something purely sensory. The listener follows an auditory route and is alternately the observer and the observed. The whole building reveals its secrets and every part of it shall be thoroughly redefined.

Eric Sleichim: concept, direction and e-guitar

BL!NDMAN [sax]
Koen Maas: soprano- tenor and baritone saxophone
Roeland Vanhoorne: alto and tenor saxophone
Piet Rebel: tenor saxophone
Raf Minten: baritone saxophone

BL!NDMAN [drums]
Tom De Cock: percussion
Yves Goemaere: percussion
Hannes Nieuwlaet: percussion
Ruben Cooman: percussion

BL!NDMAN [strings]
Floris Uytterhoeven: violin
Femke Verstappen: violin
Ine Kuypers: viola
Joyce Kuipers: cello

BL!NDMAN [vox]
Griet De Geyter: soprano
Gunther Vandeven: countertenor
Kevin Skelton: tenor
Tiemo Wang: bass-baritone

Luc Schaltin: lighting design
Hans Peter Kuhn: composition and light design
Bart Bouckaert: repetitor
Peter Quasters: video
Brecht Beuselinck: realisation cube, stage manager
Karel Marynissen: sound

KWADRATUR #3/CUBE is a BL!NDMAN-production, coproduced by Concertgebouw Brugge, deSingel, Ars Musica / Kaaitheater. With thanks to Muziektheater Transparant, Joost Fonteyne, Rik Beuselinck, Guy Danel and Tom Pauwels.


J. Alvarez: Temazcal
P. Billone: Mani.mono
B. Britten: Elegy
J. Cage: Aria
R. Cendo: Scratch data
M. Feldman: Only
D. Ghisi: Comment pouvez vous lire à present? Il fait nuit
G. Gobert: Pièce pour violon et électronique
K. Huber: Traumgesicht
H. Lachenmann: Pression
R. De Man: Case history
K. Saariaho: Lonh
S. Sciarrino: 6 caprices (nrs. 2 & 5)
E. Sleichim: Angel
G. Spiropoulos: Saksti
M. Wright: Ithaca blog
I. Xenakis: Hibiki hana ma
H. O. Kuhn: String quartet
F. Cassol: String quartet nr. 2
O. Bettison: O death – Bone chapel
A. Van Parys: Passagen/aphorisme
P. Glass: Music with changing parts