Sorry, your browser is not supported. Please use a modern browser like Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge.

Kwadratur #1

VRT nieuwsdienst, 2008

In Kwadratur Eric SLEICHIM places the four BL!NDMAN quartets in a space… Globus is the result of the “20×20-concept” that was developed for the 20th anniversary of BL!NDMAN (1988-2008). While the ear registers indefinable sounds, the eye sees an immense globe around which a tribe is making gestures that seem to refer to an ancient rite. Sonorous textures emerge from all sides and fill the space like a whirlwind. Wonderful pearls of ancient and modern music are deduced from this bulk. Polyphony is being woven, aria’s and quartet movements glide towards a plastic gesture where the image tells us about sounds of silence. Ballet méchanique, a dazzling collective; from Purcell to Ives, from Strawinsky to Philip Glass, the enfants terribles of contemporary music guide you along the turns of their interior world. Music as a statement, a poetic cry, a long history…their history.

Eric Sleichim: concept, direction and arrangements

BL!NDMAN [sax]
Koen Maas: soprano saxophone & sopranino, table music
Roeland Vanhoorne: alto saxophone, clarinet, noise maker, table music
Piet Rebel: tenor saxophone
Raf Minten: bass and baritone saxophone, table music

BL!NDMAN [drums]
Tom De Cock: percussion, table music
Yves Goemaere: percussion, noise maker, table music
Hannes Nieuwlaet: percussion, noise maker, table music
Ruben Cooman: percussion, keyboard

BL!NDMAN [strings]
Floris Uytterhoeven: violin, table music
Femke Verstappen: violin
Ine Kuypers: viola, table music
Joyce Kuipers: cello, table music

BL!NDMAN [vox]
Griet De Geyter: soprano
Gunther Vandeven: countertenor and flute
Kevin Skelton: tenor, noise maker
Hugo Oliveira: bass, noise maker

Anouk De Clercq & Kris Verdonck: stage design
Mijeong Jeong*: costume design
Luc Schaltin: lighting design
Maarten Beirens: music dramaturgy
Roel Das: sound engineering
Jo Thielemans: stage technology
Brecht Beuselinck: lighting

Kwadratur #1/Globus is a BL!NDMAN production commissioned by Cultuurcentrum Genk.


E. Sleichim: Ruisveld / 2008
J. Tenney: Critical band / 1988
S. Reich: Pendulum music / 1968
J. Cage: Story / 1940
G. Bryars: Man in a room, Gambling / 1992
J. Tenney: Having never written one single note for percussion / 1971
F. P. Santiago: Infernox4 / 2007
M. Wright: Nocturne for BJM / 2004
G. Crumb: God music / 1970
S. Reich: Proverb / 1995
K. Saariaho: Trois rivières [mvt.1] / 1993
G. Crumb: Sarabande / 1970
H. Purcell: The queens epicedium / 1695
C. Ives: The unanswered question / 1908
T. Riley: The tuning path / 1987
M. Nas: Calling / 2005
E. Sleichim: Gestimmtseit / 2004
I. Stravinsky: Gloria / 1948
E. Sleichim: Angel / 2005
T. De Mey: Musique de tables / 1987
P. Glass: In similar motion / 1973
J.S. Bach, arrangement Sleichim: bwv 768, partita 10 / ca 1700