BL!NDMAN Akenkaai 2, B-1000 Brussels +32 (0)2 201 59 47
BL!NDMAN
© kurt deruyter

ERIC SLEICHIM & BL!NDMAN

Eric Sleichim’s contemporary music ensemble BL!NDMAN is not just another saxophone quartet, but the name of a lab that houses a continual working process since 1988. In 1988 Eric Sleichim founded BL!NDMAN, a saxophone quartet with a traditional line-up, which develops new performance techniques and substantially expands the repertoire for the instrument by continually exploring the boundaries with other disciplines and early music.

In 2008 BL!NDMAN became a collective in which the 20 years of stage experience accumulated by the original quartet – BL!NDMAN [sax] – is shared with three young quartets: BL!NDMAN [drums], BL!NDMAN [vox] and BL!NDMAN [strings]. In 2014 the vocal quartet was replaced by BL!NDMAN [hybrid], a mixed quartet. A collective composed entirely of quartets: unique in the music world.

Four quartets, countless possibilities for ’unheard of’ cross-fertilisation. A highly individual repertoire of old and new. As always, BL!NDMAN embraces other artistic disciplines, delights the eye, questions the ear and considers experiment of paramount importance.

BL!NDMAN [sax]

koen maas > soprano saxophone
pieter pellens > alto saxophone
piet rebel > tenor saxophone
raf minten > baritone saxophone

BL!NDMAN [drums]

christiaan saris > percussion
yves goemaere > percussion
hannes nieuwlaet > percussion
ruben cooman > percussion

BL!NDMAN [strings]

stefanie van backlé > violin
femke verstappen > violin
hélène koerver > viola
suzanne vermeyen > cello

BL!NDMAN [hybrid]

claron mcfadden > voice
jörg brinkmann > cello
matthew wright > tuba & turntables
eric sleichim > saxophones & electronics

 

BL!NDMAN [brass]

charlotte van passen > alto trombone
daniel quiles cascant > tenor trombone
daniel ruibal ortigueira > tenor trombone
konstantin koev > bass trombone



Bookmark and Share

BL!NDMAN       contact info

Sainctelettesquare 18-19
B-1000 Brussels, Belgium
+32 2 201 59 47

contact:

general and artistic direction:
management:   M +32 485 30 98 01
productional and technical coordination:   M +32 485 53 68 16

BL!NDMAN is supported by the Arts Administration of the Ministry of the Flemish Community and the Flemish Community Commission of the Brussels-Capital Region. BL!NDMAN [sax] play Selmer Paris Saxophones. BL!NDMAN [drums] is supported by Muremo, distributor of Bergerault Percusssion Instruments.

BL!NDMAN Akenkaai 2, B-1000 Brussels +32 (0)2 201 59 47
BL!NDMAN
© kurt deruyter

ERIC SLEICHIM & BL!NDMAN

L’ensemble de musique contemporaine de Eric Sleichim est un vaste laboratoire artistique, qui depuis 1988 abrite un travail de recherche permanent. En 1988, Eric Sleichim fonde BL!NDMAN, un quatuor de saxophones qui explore continuellement les frontières avec d’autres disciplines ainsi que la musique ancienne. Il développe de nouvelles techniques de jeu et étend sensiblement le répertoire de l’instrument.

En 2008, BL!NDMAN devient un collectif au sein duquel le quatuor d’origine, BL!NDMAN [sax], partage désormais ses 20 ans d’expérience scénique avec de jeunes quatuors, BL!NDMAN [drums], BL!NDMAN [vox] et BL!NDMAN [strings]. En 2014 le quatuor vocal est remplacé par BL!NDMAN [hybrid], un quatuor mixte. Un collectif qui se compose donc exclusivement de quatuors, une formule unique dans le monde de la musique.

Quatre quatuors, des possibilités infinies de pollinisations croisées inédites. Un répertoire singulier constitué de musique ancienne et contemporaine. Depuis sa naissance, BL!NDMAN s’associe à d’autres disciplines artistiques, régale les yeux, interpelle les oreilles et se voue à l’expérimentation. Chaque concert est un événement.

BL!NDMAN [sax]

koen maas > saxophone soprano
pieter pellens > saxophone alto
piet rebel > saxophone ténor
raf minten > saxophone baryton

BL!NDMAN [drums]

christiaan saris > percussion
yves goemaere > percussion
hannes nieuwlaet > percussion
ruben cooman > percussion

BL!NDMAN [strings]

stefanie van backlé > violon
femke verstappen > violon
hélène koerver > alto
suzanne vermeyen > violoncelle

BL!NDMAN [hybrid]

claron mcfadden > voix
jörg brinkmann > violoncelle
matthew wright > tuba & platines
eric sleichim > saxophones & electronique

 

BL!NDMAN [brass]

charlotte van passen > trombone alto
daniel quiles cascant > trombone ténor
daniel ruibal ortigueira > trombone ténor
konstantin koev > trombone basse



Bookmark and Share

BL!NDMAN       contact

18-19 Sainctelettesquare
B-1000 Bruxelles, Belgique
+32 2 201 59 47

contact:

direction générale et artistique:
management:   M +32 485 30 98 01
production et technique:   M +32 485 53 68 16

BL!NDMAN bénéficie du soutien de l’Administration pour les Arts du Ministère de la Communauté flamande, ainsi que de la Commission flamande de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. BL!NDMAN [sax] joue instruments de Selmer Paris. Muremo, distributeur de Bergerault, soutient BL!NDMAN [drums].